The Creator Behind Residual Energy, Ryan De La Hoz

Ryan De La Hoz is a man put here to live his life in as many creative fashions as possible. His heart even has creative beats. An inspiration to many, he is an artist, curator, and of course, zine maker. The release of his zine Residual Energy II will be this Friday at Space Gallery from 7-12.

To get to know Ryan better check out this interview. After reading it you will most likely feel more creative, inspired, and ready to dive in to your next big thing. Enjoy.

What do you like about zines?

I like zines because they have no boundaries. Independent publishing means that there are no rules!

Can you tell me a little bit about your zine, Residual Energy?

This is the second issue in the series. The term Residual Energy came from a paranormal definition that involves what remains after a living thing vacates and/or perishes. I found it to be a fascinating concept and one that I have loosely explored multiple times in my work. It is an 8.5 x 11, 24 page issue of things that I have made and things that I like. It includes installation views, images by guest photographers, drawings, Jeff Goldblum, and a vintage photo of my Mom on the cover.

Describe the process of making a zine, and how it differs aesthetically from painting a piece of artwork or curating a show.

The way that I design is very basic, since I have very little computer skills. I am more of a hands-on artist. So I keep it very simple as far as layout, and try to let the work speak for itself. There is a bit of curating involved as I seek out photographers for each issue. A big difference is that the zine develops naturally over a long period of time. In a way the zines are what I have been up to or into since the last issue.

What is your best childhood memory?

You know? I have so many. I remember going to Disneyland for this first time and my main goal was to shake Captain Hook’s Hook. I did it! I grew up across the street from a creek and we would build what we considered to be grand tree houses. I had a Stegosaurus costume that my grandma made for me that I used to run around in. Yep.

How do you try to connect the audience with your artwork/zines?

I have been lucky enough to have a mini exhibition / release party to coincide with every “Residual Energy” issue release thus far. In these shows I definitely try and directly connect the audience with the zines by including work from and inspired by the zine itself. With the accompanying exhibitions I try and extend the overall vibe of the zine to the walls of the gallery. In my life in general, I just make things and hope that it all connects in some visceral way with anyone who is into it.

If you could be any ninja turtle, which would you be?

Donatello! Absolutely! He was always my favorite. I really like that he fights with a stick, wears purple, and builds all the cool vehicles that the turtles use. When I was little I was so into the turtle blimp!

Influences?

I think a lot about our time on this earth and how fragile life is. I take every positive aspect that I can possibly think of and try and let that influence me. A good conscience can take you far. Other influences include old action figures, the prayer of St. Francis, my two younger brothers, myth, magic, and people in this world that still have a lust for life. Some hearts are true.

You’re everywhere. You’re an artist, a curator, and a zine maker. How do you manage your time so well? What comes first?

The zines come as a byproduct of a creative lifestyle I suppose, so they don’t take up too much of my time. Curating and exhibiting can be a little hard to manage sometimes. I just let it flow. I do know that I am passionate about it all so the fire is there and that helps me get it done.  I also just got an intern so that will help in the future! Making my personal work will always be the most important aspect so that definitely comes first. Curating is a blessing because I love being able to show peoples work that I think is worth seeing. I enjoy trying to create a dialogue in any creative endeavor.

 

What’s your opinion on the SF/Bay Area art scene?

I love it! There are so many amazing people out here! I am quite fond of Chris Duncan, Andrew Schoultz, Brion Nuda Rosch, Michelle Blade, Tara Foley and Marci Washington to name a few. I like their way of thinking especially when applied to a creative process. I like what is happening at the local galleries especially Guerrero Gallery, Sight School, and Baer Ridgway. I work at the Oakland Museum Of CA, which focuses entirely on California artists so I am lucky to be surrounded by that every week as well. The other great thing about the bay area and SF in general, is that there is a wonderful pool of creative supporters; true art lovers who genuinely nurture the “scene”. People like Meighan O’Toole, Alan Bamberger, and John Trippe are some of the reasons why the creative community in San Francisco is so vigorous in my opinion.

How would you describe your work?

I am quite terrible at this. Lately I like the artwork to speak to the viewer entirely without explanation because I think that any creative endeavor that stimulates thought and or conversation is much more important and interesting than my exposition. I do know that I think a lot about isolation, hope, freedom, escape, – things like that!

Pablo Picasso once said, “Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up”. Do you agree with this? How is your imagination still alive? Is it reflected in your artwork?

I completely agree with this! I have been lucky to have a very close bond with my two younger brothers that helped nurture a strong sense of wonder that has never left me. I don’t try and force this into my artwork necessarily but I do know that it dictates my way of thought entirely. I am really big on maintaining a strong sense of hope and fascination.

What’s next?

The zine release party/exhibition is this Friday at Space Gallery SF 7 till midnight! Also-I am in a group show at EbersMoore in Chicago in December that I am very excited about entitled “Ah, Wilderness!” My first solo show in San Francisco is in January 2011 at Gallery 6 so I am going to put a lot of effort into that. I think I am going to call it “What New Mystery Is This”. I am also working with COMUИE on some t shirt designs and Sex Is Disgusting on 7” artwork for the band Human Hair in the UK.

Leave a Reply

